Vermont Reintroduces Bill to Penalize Some Aftermarket Exhaust Systems

It has been brought to our attention that there is a House Bill being circulated, and is intended to limit noise level increase from aftermarket exhaust systems on vehicles registered in Vermont.

A bill (H.B. 45) to ban motor vehicle exhaust systems that increase the noise level has been reintroduced in Vermont.  Under the bill, violators would not pass the state’s required inspection and would be subject to fines.  The bill does not provide an opportunity for vehicle hobbyists to install and use aftermarket modified exhaust systems that meet an objective decibel limit under a fair and predictable test.

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Committee Members (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 45

  • H.B. 45 does not supply inspectors with an enforcement standard, allowing them to make subjective judgments on whether an exhaust system amplifies the noise emitted by the motor vehicle.
  • H.B. 45 fails to recognize that a better way to address this issue is by establishing a fair and reasonable exhaust noise decibel limit.
  • H.B. 45 ignores the fact that aftermarket exhaust systems are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions.
  • H.B. 45 fails to recognize that aftermarket exhaust systems offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
  • H.B. 45 would make it difficult for hobbyists to replace factory exhaust systems with more durable, better performing options.
  • H.B. 45 would subject vehicle owners to fines of up to $350.

DON’T DELAY Please contact members of the Vermont House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 45.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at [email protected].  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Vermont House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

[email protected][email protected][email protected][email protected];[email protected][email protected][email protected][email protected];[email protected][email protected][email protected]


Representative Patrick Brennan (Chair)
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-863-3773


Representative David Potter (Vice Chair)
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-438-5385


Representative Timothy Corcoran
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-447-0929


Representative Clement Bissonnette
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-655-9527


Representative Mollie Burke
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-257-4844


Representative Anne Gallivan
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-483-2854


Representative Duncan Kilmartin
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-334-7883


Representative Diane Lanpher
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-877-2230


Representative Michael McCarthy
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-233-7587


Representative Herbert Russell
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-779-7370


Representative Kurt Wright
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-658-1410


Source: Sema Action Network

Update: Here is our official email response